I’ve gotta blog that!

07Feb09

It’s 2009.  Are blogs antiquated now?  I mean, this ain’t my first rodeo blog, but it does seem weird to be starting anew here.  It’s just that I think in “blog.”   So many things happen to me in a day and I say, “I’ve gotta blog that!”  And then I get distracted by a baby wrestling match and I forget.  Or I think that since my current blogs are so out of date I figure no one’s reading, so why bother, right?  Or worse, I change my Facebook status and think that’s enough communication with the world. 

And probably?  It is.  But, I’m hoping that I can use this blog to get my thoughts together, combat the ADHD that’s been magnified by not working at a “regular” job, chronicle the babies’ lives and give me something to do during naptime so I don’t have to watch the second two hours of the Today show. What the fucking fuck is that?  I can take 9 – 9:30, since it’s just a rehash of the early business, but I can’t watch Hoda and Kathie Lee.  No.  Mostly because I fear that Hoda is mere seconds from just offing herself right there on the show.  Of course, being on the West Coast, we wouldn’t get to see it, but still, I worry.  She’s faced death before.  She’s not afraid.  It’s got to be better than sharing the screen with that over-botoxed clown.  How did this happen to her? 

But this is not a blog about her.  In fact, I’m not really sure what it’s about just yet, but I am certain there will be a lot of talk about how I’ve been SPRUNG (get it?) into life as the stay at home MOM (you’re getting it now, right?) to boy/girl twins.  They’re currently 9 months old and we call them Butts and Sassy.  I realize that Butts is not the most dignified name, but what nickname is dignified?  He was Buddy, Butters, Lord Butterton, and now we tend to call him Butts.  It will wear off eventually, riDSCN2000ght?

This picture is from a few weeks ago.  I’m not so sure how many photos I’ll post here, so enjoy this one!  Butts is the old man on the left.  And the linked arms were all their handiwork!

Anyway, I’ll be using this space to chronicle the highs and lows of parenthood and I’ll sprinkle in thoughts on pop culture, maybe some politics, and god only knows what else.

I hate to start with a parenting low, but I’ve got to share a little snippet from this morning.  Sassy puked up a bit of her oatmeal this morning, and we thought the bib had caught it all.  Well, when I went to get her out of her highchair, I did a diaper sniff check and because I went with the ill-advised “no-look contact sniff” I got a full-on facial of pre-enjoyed oatmeal.  Apparently the bib didn’t catch even part of it.  I gagged for hours.

There are times when I chide myself for looking like such utter crap all the time, never showering, never doing anything with my hair…but then things like this happen.  It’s not like a neatly coiffed ‘do will make a difference when I’ve got a face full of vomit, right? 

13 Responses to “I’ve gotta blog that!”

  1. Oh my god they are adorable and so big!

    I am glad someone else hates hoda and kathie as much (if not more) than me!

  2. It seems kinda sad that I feel the need to reply because I know what it is like to get a face full of pre-digested goo on my face. Then again, I’m also very happy that I know the feeling too – I’m so glad to have my son, face full of spit-up and all.

    For me the worst was a couple of weeks ago around midnight when my son started crying. I went in, picked him up to cuddle, and he proceeded to cover me from neck to waist in his rejected dinner.

    It was all I could do to keep from retching as I carried him to the shower with me. Yuck. And yet, so worth it. 🙂

  3. Welcome to your new space! Thanks for the update; I’ll make sure to change my Reader. They look so great! And oatmeal is good for the skin, right? 🙂

  4. Good to see you back! I’m with you on Hoda and Kathie Lee too. Blech!

    And when did they get so big? I feel like I blinked and missed it!

  5. 5 Stacey

    Thanks for letting me know where you went!!! The kids are so big and so precious!!! Glad everything is going so well…hope ya’ll have a great weekend!!!

  6. I was getting ready to yell at your for not blogging in so long!

    Butts! That cracks me up! My Jake started off as Butters, McButters, Butterball, etc. But somehow he ended up as “Moop”. Nicknames are crazy.

  7. 7 geohde

    Boo!

    I’ve been wondering how you’re getting on. I have a family blog, if you promise not to mention the other one?

    xx

    J

  8. glad you are back to blogging…I always enjoy your posts……funny girl!!!! SAM

  9. I wince every time I surf through Hoda and Kathie Lee. Good to know I’m not the only one avoiding that train wreck.

    Looking forward to watching you get comfortable in your new digs.

  10. 10 Jenn

    So glad to hear from you again! My boy/girl twins are 11 days younger than yours, and I’ve been following your blog since the IVF days. Your kids have grown so much! Mine, too– and, coincendentally, we call our boy Buddy/Butterball/Buderoni. I hadn’t thought of Butts, yet…though, since we call our girl Chubs, I’m not sure how good Butts and Chubs would sound! Anyway, I can’t wait to hear what the WonderTwins are up to next!

  11. 11 lifeineden

    Yes, hate Kathie and Hoda Today (actually like Hoda, but not with Kathie).

    Welcome to the other side. I too lauched into a new space after the Fruit Babies arrived. It is fun, but definitely hard to keep blogging. And now I too got sucked into Facebook, so get distracted. I’ll make a pact with you to try and at least post weekly? Okay, monthly?

    The littles are so cute! Hang in there with the SAHM stuff. It’s tough but do-able.

  12. 12 Cath

    Hey, thanks for sharing your blog! I look forward to reading more 🙂
    You are a funny girl! Oh, and I love the picture!!

  13. OMG, so cute and so big! Welcome to your new digs!


Leave a Reply

