Pavlov’s Housewife…Eventually

08Feb09

Friday afternoon Bubba came home early and took the Littles on a much needed (by me) walk. I stayed home to take a much needed (by everyone) shower. He returned with a beautiful bouquet of flowers that he said the babies just insisted on getting me. How did I reward him? With the most white trash meal one could imagine, Rice-A-R0ni Red Beans and Rice with hot dogs chopped up in it. Trash-alaya, you might call it. And the worst part is that these were super cheapo hotdogs that I’d bought to train the dog with*. How’s that for some housewifery? (Would that be pronounced house-WHIFFery, like midwifery? I surely do hope so.)

But, the flowers must have gotten to me. Either that, or it was the shame of serving that meal. I awoke on Saturday in a domesticated fervor! I sanded and primed one of our dining room chairs (I’m only doing one to start to make sure I like the color), did several loads of laundry, and finally, finally, FINALLY went grocery shopping. Once the babies were asleep I whipped up meals for seven nights! I made French Onion Soup, Buttermilk Herb Chicken, Hawaiian Chicken, and I also made some poppy seed muffins. This morning I was still afflicted and went to town once again. Chipotle Pulled Pork in the slow cooker, ounces and ounces of baby food made and homemade refried beans on the way! It’s insanity, really. I’m not like this. But if I were to get flowers every week, maybe I could try. Honey?

*We want to train her not to poop all over the yard. Any ideas? I’m going to start with NOT eating any more of her hotdogs, but beyond that I’m flummoxed.

2 Responses to “Pavlov’s Housewife…Eventually”

  1. maybe you could try not feeding her the hotdogs….oh and tie her to a tree with a chain…..with her water bowl just out of reach……….
    Just kidding…..we did though recently stop giving Rubi wet food and much less table food……she now MOSTLY gets wet food and her poops are soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo NO seriously S!O! much easier to clean……not that I scoop them but Jon says they are…and please don’t tie her to a tree……..that was a joke…..sam

  2. IMO the only way to really train a dog to go in a certain area is to take them out on a leash to the spot you want them to “go” and wait for him to “go” then give lots of praise. It’s going to take alot of time, especially if you have an older dog used to going where he wants, but it’s worth it. Both my dogs have designated “spots” in the yard that they go to to do their business. Makes cleaning up a 1/4 acre alot easier!


Leave a Reply

