10 Things I Love About You

01Mar09

Today is the babies’ 10-month birthday.  How can this be???  It doesn’t seem so long ago that I was a big ole heifer, lying on the couch, demanding ice cream from Bubs and daydreaming about when I’d finally become a mom.

Then, I actually got pregnant.

The daydreams, the ice cream demands, and of course my sheer size escalated like you wouldn’t believe.  But there was just no way I could even imagine how much my life would be completely changed forever.  And not even my life.  I am changed.  I’m a different person.  Not just the same person in a new role.  Nearly everything I think and do is because of, about, or for these babies.  I might be headed toward some kind of burnout, but for now this is exactly who I want to be.

For some perspective, they went from this:

IMG_2160

To this!

So, in honor of this 10 month milestone and at the risk of bringing The Mush, here are 10 things I love about each of them.

Butts:

  1. The way he raises one eyebrow when he’s trying to make me laugh. He also does when he’s questioning something (usually my mothering tactics I assume).
  2. His goofy guttural laugh. It comes from WAY down deep and is so contagious.
  3. When he pretty much leaps off the changing table into my arms. DangerBoy!
  4. The fact that he will sign “more” until his arms fall off as long as I keep rewarding him with more blueberries.
  5. The look of pride he gets when he walks over to the kitchen (or wherever I happen to be) in his walker. He also does backwards donuts in it. I guess I should fear for when he turns 16.
  6. His little old man face.
  7. The fact that he is our Family Ambassador, smiling flirting shamelessly at anyone who looks his way.
  8. His oh-so-speedy army crawl. Cutest means of transportation EVER!
  9. The way he cozies up to his blanket for naptime.
  10. When he and his sister hold hands while I’m driving. Hopefully they’re not white-knuckling it over my driving. I really just think they love each other!

Sass:

  1. The way she sizes up any new situation before she decides whether or not she likes it.
  2. Her absolute fearlessness, especially evident now that she’s moving around.
  3. Her love for our dog. She gets the biggest smile on her face every time the dog comes in the room.
  4. Her giggle. It’s squeaky, girly and scrumptious.
  5. Her chubby, chubby thighs. Our friend once told some other friends that he wants to deep fry them and gobble them up. Weird? Yes. But I totally get where he’s coming from.
  6. The little penguin waddle-esque wiggle that she does on the changing table.
  7. The way she lets her brother manhandle her. He’s always tugging on her arm or trying to climb up her and she seems to actually enjoy it! Except the hair-pulling, of course.
  8. Speaking of hair…her cute pixie ‘do, and the little curls that go over her collar sometimes. It does get unruly occasionally and when that happens Bubs calls her Gary Busey, but she pulls it off.
  9. Despite the slight annoyance, I love seeing her beautiful blue eyes peering over the side of the pack-n-play when she’s supposed to be napping. I do wish she could figure out how to get back down on her own though…
  10. When she and her brother hold hands while I’m driving. Hopefully they’re not white-knuckling it over my driving. I really just think they love each other! Is this cheating to repeat the same one for both of them? It’s just too damn sweet not to mention.
5 Responses to “10 Things I Love About You”

  1. 1 Farah

    Oh the sweetness! I think I caught a tooth ache! That looks like so much fun. And to think, they already love sharing

  2. 2 lifeineden

    They are for sure adorable! I can’t believe how much they can do! (I keep forgetting that mine are 2 months premature, oops)

    Oh, and I have SEEN Gary Busey, and she looks nothing like him!

  3. I love to read about twins! When my son acts a certain way I think it is what all babies do, but reading about the different personalities of twins I see his actions must be unique to just him. Thanks for sharing they are adorable!

  4. 4 Stacey

    So precious!!! It all goes by so quickly…I am sure you take tons of video and photos…even the annoying things…trust me you will love to go back and watch them all. The kids will love them too…my daughter LOVES to watch home videos of herself…it was a good trick I figured out once too when she was fussy..I put it in and she was mesmerized….
    Can’t believe it has already been 10 months!!! They are darling and you are blessed! 🙂

  5. They are so adorable! And I loved reading about them, and was nodding along, thinking of my 11 month old. He also gets the biggest smile when our pet (cat, not dog) comes into the room, and has one of those low laughs that just melts me.

    Happy motherhood to you!


Leave a Reply

