Twist and Pout

18Jun09

UPDATED TO ADD: DUH!  I forgot to mention that my debut post at How Do You Do It went up today! Stop on by!

************

Question. When did it become normal for nail salons to administer manis and pedis simultaneously?

I rarely get a manicure (See already effed up right thumb a mere 71 minutes post-mani for explanation.) but I love me a good pedicure. I sit back, let the harmony of the vibrating chair and the soft buzz of Vietnamese gossip lull me into a near coma while I leaf through trashy mags. It’s heaven, right?

Well, add in a mani these days and you can kiss that visual goodbye. I’m going to Las Vegas tomorrow and figured that since I’m a giant heifer with a craptastic wardrobe, I ought to at least have decent looking hands.

So I ask for a French mani (because I want to be classy like NotGelina). All of a sudden my bliss is over. Kaput. I am twisted in my chair with both hands on one side, magazines left un-leafable. All for something that will be ruined before I even clap eyes on a poolside margarita.

I totally get it for people with, you know, LIVES? Like people who have somewhere to be? Or people who don’t rely on pedicures for their only alone time. I wanted this appointment to last a few hours. I did not feel the need for speed. And I really think that the worst part is the uncomfortable position. The twist gets to be a bit much, no?

Should I have just spoken up and said I wanted them done separately? Yeah, I suppose. But I get a mad case of beauty salon mute mouth. You know where the stylist is styling your hair in some crazy non-fashionable fashion and you’re thinking, “Oh god, what the hell? I hope he won’t be too upset if I put this in a ponytail before I go outside.” But do I say anything? No. Or worse, when he asks what I think? “Oh great!” Loser.

But seriously, am I the only person who is bothered by this mani/pedi situation? I’ve gotta know.

4 Responses to “Twist and Pout”

  1. Oh, that would be a pain, literally and figuratively. Seriously, I didn’t come to get my nails done in the name of efficiency! I came to enjoy myself! If I just wanted some paint on my fingers, I could do it myself. I came for the experience! 🙂

  2. Dude! Same time? I’ve seen places where the person doing my pedi will do the mani while I stay in the chair – but hey! Massaging chair!

  3. 3 Erica

    That’s annoying! When I went for my mani/pedi last week, they did them seperately … someone did actually have that done, but they specifically requested it … I agree with you … I want to read mags, relax, and listen to gossip spoken in another language …

  4. 4 Heather

    Totally a random comment: I found you through HDYDI and you had my vote from day one. You are hilarious, your kids are cute, and you’re now on my blog roll.


Leave a Reply

